Google will auto-delete user activity data after 18 months

by WarriorForum.com Administrator
2 replies
Google announced in their blog a new update which will defaultly delete user data after 18 months.



According to Google:

"Last year we introduced auto-delete controls, which give you the choice to have Google automatically and continuously delete your Location History, search, voice and YouTube activity data after 3 months or 18 months. We continue to challenge ourselves to do more with less, and today we're changing our data retention practices to make auto-delete the default for our core activity settings."
The new auto-delete setting will automatically apply new Google accounts, and for those turning on Location HIstory for the first time. Existing users will have to manually enable the setting. Of course, this won't apply to Gmail, Google Drive, and Google Photos.

Chime in.
#activity #autodelete #data #google #months #user
Avatar of The Force
  • Profile picture of the author ahmed rupom
    But it will not be good for us. I think this will be an obstacle for us to collect future information.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[11607432].message }}
  • Profile picture of the author RuskinF
    This was going to happen. They don't have enough resources to make servers to hold the data of all the users on the planet. They would use the data and feed it to AI to develop the intricate parts of it and then delete the data once it becomes useless.
    {{ DiscussionBoard.errors[11607637].message }}
Avatar of The Force

Trending Topics